Watchdog?

Discussion in 'First Time Dog Owner and Basic Questions' started by Klexi, Sep 6, 2016.

1. Klexi

Klexi Guest

This is my first Berner also first female dog ever.

I've had a German Shepherd and a Boxer before.

After months of research for our next breed the Bernese seemed to be the perfect match. And it is.

We wanted less of a guard dog but definitely a watchdog.

Now, this said keeping in mind that Lexi is only 4.5 months old I see Absolutely NO WAY this lovely pup will have any watchdog in her. She loves everyone soooo much. Like way too much. She thinks everyone is her very best friend in the world. And she pees (over excited) every single time she sees someone, anyone.

When we have visitors over it's actually kind of sad for us to see her following the visitors around and laying beside the visitors instead of us.

I am new to the breed.

I would like to know WHEN and IF the watchdog instinct will kick in! Does it make a difference that she is a female?
    Thanks for ANY info.

2. Momaire

Momaire Member

Hi Klexi,